Did you know that registration to Civilian Aviation is completely free and brings you lots of added features? Find out more....

Astrophotography

Landscapes,portraits,sports - anything really as long as it's not offensive.
caerus

Astrophotography

Post by caerus » Wed Mar 07, 2012 4:43 am

My other love besides aviation, is the sky above us. I've always looked up and stood amazed at the expanse of universe before our eyes. It's not until recently though that I've started imaging what I see. I have a Celestron Astromaster 114EQ telescope and various adaptors to photograph through the 'scope. It still needs some fine tuning to align the mirrors (known as collomation), but otherwise, it's ready to go. I've been learning the sky recently, so I don't actually have any shots through the scope, but what I do have is my attempts at "Widefield Photography".

Widefield photography can be as simple as putting your camera on a tripod and opening the shutter. There are some tricks to getting sharp images though. Setting a higher ISO such as ISO800 and a large aperture (I can reach f/3.5) will reduce the length of the exposure, prevent the stars from trailing. A wide field of view is also recommended. 18mm will give you an exposure of around 30s before the stars begin to trail, but with the rough settings above, you shouldn't get any exposures longer then 15-20s. Light pollution will also determine how long your exposure will be. If you're shooting in the countryside, be prepared for longer exposures.

Here is my image of Orion, shot at 18mm, f/3.5, ISO1600, giving a 30s exposure..
The Hunter by Caerus Aviation, on Flickr

Cygnus is in this shot. 18mm, f/3.5, ISO800, 13s..
Cygnus by Caerus Aviation, on Flickr

That is as basic as it gets so if you're interested, give it a go.!

Star trails can be an inspiring subject to shoot. You can shoot these by setting the camera to 'Bulb' and let it go, but I prefer to shot shorter exposures and stack them afterwards.